Fit Momma

So, we all know the feeling. After we have our babies, body parts begin to wrinkle, sag, stretch and just look different. I always said to myself, “Well, because I had my kids young, I don’t expect this to happen to me.” WRONG, WRONG, WRONG. It did happen to me and I am not exempt from the post baby wrinkle and stretch. Now, I can’t complain too much as I have been able to lose the baby weight quite fast, but my tummy just won’t budge. I have stretch marks up the wazoo- on my thighs, butt, tummy……..hmmmm. Stretch marks are just evil. They give my tummy this weird shape that make sit look like I have two tummies. it’s a frankentummy. Does anyone know what I’m talking about?

Anyway, I am a big fan of trying to fix things that I do not like about myself, and since my one major complaint is my stretched out tummy, I am on a mission to try whatever I can to fix my tummy so it can look 27 again. Now I will try anything outside of plastic surgery because I have this super fear of being put to sleep or being diced and sliced.

Currently, I am trying to scrutinize what I put in my mouth. I am not a diet and I have never been on a diet, however, I do know that I can eat better. I have a natural penchant for sweets- chocolate, cake, ice cream, frozen yogurt. I also love pastries…hmmmm…..donuts, breads, croissants. I love them all and they are my friends. But the problem is they just sit in my tummy area. So I am trying to eat those things in moderation and also be conscious of the nutrition value of what I eat. I think to myself, “Am I just eating this because it is sweet or am I eating this because it will nourish my body?” I tell you this works for me. I also hate most vegetables. They look icky and just are not appetizing to me, so I am learning to accept vegetables into my social circle slowly. I will eat a raw salad any day, but there is something about a cooked vegetable or any type of broccoli-looking thing that just irritates the core of my soul. Pray for me y’all ‘cos I need help in the nutrition department. fruits on the other hand, are my friends. I like homemade smoothies, I like strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, cherries, grapes, grapefruits, bananas, any type of citrus, etc.  I love my fruits.

My third plan of action is to workout. Now my athletic resume contains only one line, which reads:

“I AM NOT ATHLETIC AND I DO NOT LIKE TO MOVE.”

I am naturally a couch potato, but when you have kids, you have to interact with them and run around to entertain them. Now God’s way of laughing at me was by giving me the two most energetic kids He could possibly create. let me tell you that my kids just do not sit down. They literally buzz around the house, the store, the church or wherever we are, ALL DAY LONG. It’s a sight to behold. Because I want my kids to have a great quality of life, and I want to live a long, healthy life, I have decided to start working out about 5 days a week. I am doing this workout called Supreme 90 Day. I have to tell you it is working for me. Now, my goal for doing it was simply just to tone my flabby tummy and to have some natural energy. Let me say I have no weight loss goals. l I am not a caffeine or energy drink consumer, so I have to find energy from within my soul. The first 2 weeks of this routine was hell on wheels. I was angry to be taking time out to sweat. But now that I’m 6 weeks in, it’s not half bad. My African butt is getting firmer and more defined, I am getting some muscle definition in my arms, and most importantly, I feel more energetic. So far, I have seen no results on my tummy region, but I will still keep trying.

Well, I need encouragement on this fitness thing. My goal is to incorporate regular work outs in my life. Even after my tummy is as flat as a pancake, I want to live a healthier, happier life that includes working out and moving my lazy behind.

 

Thinking Momma

2 thoughts on “Fit Momma

  1. Hey girl, congratulations on your fitness and nutrition goals! Making the decision to start is the first step. Having kids is a big deal on the body for sure but it is important to remember that so long as you are healthy and happy on the inside, it doesn’t matter what is on the outside. I have stretch marks for days from my kids, and it has taken me a long time to just come to grips with the fact that they are not going anywhere. However, tightening the skin through weight lifting and good nutrition does help a lot. Check out our blog for fitness tips and nutrition. Best of luck to you on your journey!

    • Thanks for the words of encouragement. I know very little about fitness and nutrition and I’m on the path to learning more so that I can be healthier for my family. I will definitely be checking out your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

