Sleep Woes

So as a mom, I am supposed to be in charge of my kids right? After all, I have only 2 kids. Ugo is almost 5 and Muna is 1, so how hard could it be to wrangle two mini people? Some days are a breeze. They eat their breakfast with no issues, they take their naps and there is no bickering, biting or hitting the entire day. On days like this I feel like I am in heaven and  I can hear the angels singing.

Yesterday was not a perfect day 😦 . Let me rewind. I am currently in the process of phasing Muna out to her own room. For the past year, she has slept on her bed in our room, but because I wake up in the middle of the night to a little girl’s head or hair in my face, I got tired and decided that she has to go. SHE HAS TO GO!! With Ugo, we also moved him to his own room at the age of 1. He was mad at us and screamed for a week straight, but after that week was over, he actually began to love his room. Let me say that Muna is not the same as Ugo. She is far more spirited, knows what she wants out of life and will not stop until she gets what she wants.

So I decided that I would get her comfortable with her new room, fill it up with her toys and the things she likes. The fist day was hell. She screamed like a fox and kept leaving the room. The thing is she is so limber and is not afraid to walk around in the dark. When I put her on her new bed, she lays down for a few minutes, but then rushes back into our room and demands to sleep on our bed. I know I’m supposed to return her back to her bed every time she magically appears in my room, but the thing is that I am so exhausted. I do not do well on an interrupted sleep cycle. The moment I am woken from a nice, dreamy, slumber, it is virtually impossible for me to go back to sleep. I also do not function well on little to no sleep. I don’t do late night sessions. Even when I was in college, I never pulled all nighters. I like to get as much uninterrupted sleep as I can.

Anyway, back to the subject at hand. This little one year old is running me and has won the war. She knows that  once she crawls into my bed at 2am, I have no will power to lift my body up from my bed, carry her across the hall and back into her bed. In my mind, I know I have to sacrifice two weeks of sleep to get her used to her new room, but my flesh is really really weak and my flesh also loves good sleep.

In my mind, I say  to myself that I will return her back to her bed when she waltzes in at 2am, but I know I won’t. So for now, I guess I have to get used to waking up with neck cramps because my 1 year old has me twisting and turning in odd positions to avoid squishing her. Plus she has this habit of forcing herself unto my pillow, which means I have to twist my head into an odd unnatural angle. Oh the joys of being a parent.

Like I always say, think about your decisions, for you are forced to lay on the bed you made (I don’t even know how the saying about beds and laying goes for I am in too much pain and my neck is cramping  forcefully).

Happy Friday!!

Thinking Momma

Leave a Reply

