I Got My Sleep Back!!!

Now some of you are aware that I have not slept for 8 consecutive hours since I had my daughter 16 months ago. From the day she was born, she always slept in the same room as my husband and I. I like the idea of my kids being in our room when they are babies because it makes night time breastfeeding sessions much easier for me. I always hated the idea of being half asleep and having to walk across the hall to my baby to change their diapers and breastfeed them. It was so much more convenient for me to have her bed beside mine. I also thought it would be easier because I did not want my husband waking up in the middle of the night because of his crazy job schedule and sometimes it’s difficult for him to sleep.

When my daughter turned 1, I decided to transition her to her own room. Needless to say, she HATED it. What she would do it sleep until 2am, then barge into my room in an angry fury, demanding to sleep in our bed. Then she would wake up at 6am, run around our room and be back in bed at 11am. It was really a frustrating thing. Now, I’m about to go back to full time work, and I am going to need to get my sleep back. Last week, my husband and I hatched a plan to keep her sleeping in her own bed.

On Monday, I decided that instead of leaving our bedroom door ajar so that she can waltz in at 2am, I would leave the door shut. That way I would be sending her the message that she is not welcome in our room at 2am. IT WORKED!!!! When she came to our room at 2:12am that morning, and found out that the room was closed, she started knocking on the door and shouting “dad, dad, dad” and “hi daddy.” Luckily, her daddy did not wake up, because if he had, he and his soft mooshy heart would have caved and opened the door for her.

I let her knock on the door and cry for a total of 5 minutes, then I went out to meet her, told her that she had to sleep in her room for the night, and changed her diaper. As soon as I laid her on her bed, she laid right back, but as I turned around to leave, she jumped off the bed and followed me. I turned around again, picked her up, gave her a kiss and said to her: “Mama, you have to sleep in your room tonight ok?” I then proceeded to lay her on her bed and gave her another kiss. Surprisingly, my little persistent Annie laid back down. I turned around, went back to my room and shut the door behind me.

At 2:22am, I tip toed to her room to see what was going on and lo and behind, my little hurricane was asleep!!! Yay!! Success!! It only took 10 mins of my sleepy time. It is now Friday and I am proud to say that little hurricane has been sleeping through the night all week. Life feels so good and I feel like I can go back to full time work next week energized and victorious!!! Eureka!

Thinking Momma.

 

2 thoughts on “I Got My Sleep Back!!!

  1. I love this post! I have an 4 and a half year old who has just recently decided that coming and snuggling in with Mom and Dad in the middle of the night is a good idea…Definitely going to try out your solution!

    Great Post!

    • Try it out and please don’t blame me in the event that your child gets mad at you for being shut out of mommy and daddy’s room. Lol. I don’t believe I did not think of this solution months ago. I look forward to many more nights of uninterrupted snooze 🙂
      .

Leave a Reply

