Teaching Kids How to Think

It’s Wednesday!!!! This means another quote for all of us to ruminate on. This quote relates to the way we as parents raise our kids.

“Children must be taught how to think, not what to think.”

-Margaret Mead

The above quote summarizes my entire philosophy of raising kids. I want my children to be able to think for themselves and form opinions on their own. I believe that if you force a child to think your way, then that child will never grow up to be one of the great minds of their generation. Rather, if you just instill in them basic morals such as compassion, kindness, tenacity and patience, then they can be free to think however they want to. I have always believed that it is our duty as parents to expose our children to the realities of life, and allow them to think outside the box. Something that tickles my heart is when my young man asks me questions about the world around him. He is always curious about why people do things and why certain things happen. He wants to know where the sun goes at night, why the man in the store is eating a burger and what I do on the computer. Although, I must confess, sometimes I say, “I am busy,” but when I do have a moment, I like to pick his brain to see what his impressions of the world are. My goal for my kids is for them to have ever evolving and creative minds. I want them to always marvel at the world around them, to be thirsty for knowledge and to grow up to be great inventors and innovators.

My son is also just noticing that there are people of different colors, sizes and shapes all around us. This makes me happy. He notices that our skin color is different from the color of some others around him, and I have found this to be a great teaching moment. I let him categorize people according to whatever color he sees and when he is old enough then I can expand upon the deep discussions about ethnicity and race. But for now, all he knows is that we are all “boys and girls” and we all come in different colors and sizes. Life is beautiful when seen through the eyes of a 4 year old. Let’s all keep learning and growing.

I hope the rest of your week is jolly and smooth.

Thinking Momma

Leave a Reply

