I HATE School Runs!!

Ok, I know it is probably a bit too early to complain about school runs, being that my son has only been a kindergartner for a few days, but may I complain about how utterly annoying it is to completely turn my schedule upside down for my school aged child? (It is so weird hearing myself say that my child is actually in real big boy school).

But I digress. First of all, I am not someone who enjoys waking up early. If I have to be up by 5am or 6am, that means the house is either on fire or someone somewhere is throwing wads of cash out of the window and I’m up early to catch it. I can be up by 6, but not with the intention of doing anything solid with my life. I will twist and turn around my bed, tickle the kids and watch cartoons with them, but when you tell me I have to wake up at 6am with the intention of getting the kids ready, taking a shower, driving a vehicle, dropping a child off….etc. My mind just screams.

I woke up this morning and I was not feeling refreshed at all. My mind said, “Just pull the covers over your head and sleep.” Then another voice said, “GET UP!!! Ugo must not be late for school.” (Does everyone hear random voices in their head or do I need to be concerned about psychotic symptoms?).

So up I went. I had to drag myself to shower and look decent so that I would not frighten the tender elementary school kids and embarrass my child who happily proclaims: “I am a big boy now.” Needless to say, I am not looking forward to the next 15 or 16 years as I continue my career as a professional chauffeur to two kids. I’m glad my son is settling down in school and enjoying the experience, but can someone make schools start at 10am instead of the ungodly unnecessarily early hour of 7 something? If there is a petition circling somewhere to change school start times, alert me. I would love to put my signature on that.

This is my morning rant. We all know that parents are allowed at least one rant a day. I hope you all are having a non-cranky morning. Tonight I will remind myself to go to bed on time to avoid being cranky momma in the morning.

Thinking Momma

2 thoughts on “I HATE School Runs!!

  1. Not looking forward to my little princess starting school…luckily I don’t have to worry about that for a couple more years 🙂

Leave a Reply

