Follow Your Dreams

Follow your dreams

 

 

 

 

 

I  just realized that after becoming a mom, I sort of put all of my dreams, hopes and aspirations on the sideline. The other day, I was saying to myself, if I pour all of my heart and soul into raising my kids and do not set some time out for my self, what will my life look like after the kids move out? I realize that I am a big dreamer. I have so many goals and dreams for myself and it is important for me to learn how to balance my needs as well as the needs of my family. I can’t say that I have it all figured out, however, I am on the road to working it all out. I’m sure many parents know what I’m talking about. We are so focused on finances, making sure our kids have all that they need, taking kids to school, extracurricular activities, homework, and all of the stuff that comes  with parenting, that we sometimes  put our dreams on the back burner. Now I have always had the belief that I was not made to live a mediocre life,  however it is so difficult and time-consuming to chase one’s dreams while maneuvering the challenges and responsibilities of parenting.

For me, the first step in chasing my dreams is actually allowing myself the space in my mind to dream something big. I have thought about all the possible things I would like to accomplish. I also wrote out a short-term and long-term plan for myself. I wrote out what I would like to accomplish in the next 6 months, in the next year, 5 years and ten years. Starting with the 6 month and 1 year plan, I also wrote out steps I will take to accomplish those plans. Dividing the plan into small manageable bits makes it less overwhelming to accomplish.

I guess my life is still a work in progress and in my bid to become the best thinking momma ever, I have to learn how not to lose myself in this whirlpool called motherhood.

So for you all out there, how do you balance chasing your dreams with all the responsibilities of parenting? I really want to hear your input.

Dreamy Thinking Momma

Leave a Reply

