Simple Rules for A Happy Marriage

The hubby and I

The hubby and I

Happy Labor Day everyone,

I guess my weekend was exactly what the doctor ordered. We spent the weekend sleeping, resting and just plain doing  nothing. It was fabulous!!! I was just reminiscing about how my husband and I have gotten to this relaxing sweet spot. We’ve known each other for 7 years, and been married for 5. I think the last two years have simply been the best years of our marriage and in fact it seems to be getting better as the years go by.

Here are some of my rules for a happy marriage:

1) Show your spouse the best of yourself: When we go to work, we put in a lot of effort and show our best qualities, so why is it that we often show the worst of ourselves to our beloved? Put on your best face. Act right.

2) Ask the important questions: Now this one is especially for the ladies. Before you choose to get married, please ask your future spouse everything you will need to know for the future. Will you buy a house without doing your research? So why would you marry someone you barely know? Ask questions about his take on spirituality, raising kids, finances, arguments, savings, retirement, etc. This might seem farfetched, but I’ve heard too many ladies say, “Oh my gosh, I married this man and he changed on me.” Most times, people don’t change. They just become more of themselves.

3) Honesty is the best policy: Be completely open and honest with your spouse. So many times, we keep hurt feelings to ourselves until they build up and become an ugly cancerous growth. Address wounds immediately and resolve them as soon as you can.

4) Know each other’s buttons: I know my husband’s buttons so I can steer clear of them. I know what irks him and so I try not to jump on those sore spots. My husband is my partner in crime, not my enemy. I always have to remember that even when I’m mad at him. Remember that a house divided upon itself will fall.

Those are some of the tips I live by and they seem to be working out for me so far.

What guidelines have helped your marriage flourish?

Thinking Momma

Leave a Reply

