Creating Goals For Yourself

untitled

Hello boys and girls,

Today I was just thinking about how many hopes and dreams I have. I mean I have goals for myself, goals for my spouse and goals for my kids. To further break those goals down, I have divided my personal goals into career goals, spiritual goals, fitness goals, spousal goals and relational goals. I have my goals firmly taped up to my closet wall so that I can look at them every day. I learned this technique from one of my college professors. He asked us, upon graduation, to write out our 10-year and 5-year plans as well as to detail how we were supposed to achieve them. So it’s not just enough to say: “I will be a successful therapist in 10 years.” You actually have to define success in measurable terms. Where do you see yourself working? How much money do you wish to make? What type of work will you be doing? What do you need to do this month to climb up that goal ladder? And the list goes on and on.

Ever since I wrote out my goals and stuck them to my wall, I have found that my drive to reach them has increased tenfold. I am working harder than ever because I do not want to disappoint myself. For my workout goals, I first detailed how I want to look.  I know how many days a week, as well as the duration for which I shall be working out. I have my workouts on a calendar and I love to mark them off daily. Putting things on a schedule is my way of sealing the deal. If I write something down on my calendar, I have to do it.  I get a kick out of crossing things off my lists.

Writing out all my goals seems to work for me. For my career goals, I wrote out what I want to accomplish ten years from now, then I also wrote out what I want to accomplish by December 2014, and on top of that, I set goals for myself month by month. This makes my 10-year plan less scary and more easily attainable. Some people are much more creative and make vision boards for themselves. I’m not at that level yet, so just writing my goals down in plain black ink appears to be working in my favor.

The cherry on the cake is finding SUPPORT. Find one or two trusty sidekicks who can help you reach your goal. If you know people who will encourage you when you want to give up, then put them on your team. Every person needs cheerleaders to whom they can vent when times are hard and who will smile at them when they achieve something small or something big.

How do you plan out your goals for yourself? What method works for you?

 

As usual, comment below and hit the like button.

Thinking Momma

Image taken from http://www.womenshealthmag.com

4 thoughts on “Creating Goals For Yourself

  1. I love this post! For me, it is very important to have goals that are more short term…literally like “Today by 3pm, I will have done X, Y, and/or Z.” Then, in between those, I have to have things to look forward to-almost like happy highlight goals-like “Tonight I get to get dressed up and go to (insert fun event here).” This keeps me going towards my goals! Like you, I have post its everywhere with goals and also quotes I like…on my bathroom mirror, desk at work (one says “Dont slouch!”) and these are awesome reminders towards a goal of, for example, getting back to having better posture.

    One of my goals was to never get boring. I could be bored, but I don’t want to ever let myself get boring. So, i met a man on a plane once who I talked to for 4 hours straight. The kink in my neck was so bad, I had a sore neck for days but it was so worth it! When we established that our creative and driven minds were very similar, he said he does something called “Morning Pages.” So, I get up and before I do anything else, I write. Something about the pen to paper is very relieving for me. He said to write whatever I wanted. Kind of like free association. Once it is on paper, it exists. In my brain, I have ideas for all kinds of things coming and going at light speed 24 hours a day…even when I dream. So, to get up in the morning and start the day with a brain unload has been the best thing for my clarity and for goal setting and adjusting.

    And i 100% agree with needing cheerleaders. I actually have people that I check on and that check on me every single day, it is crucial because sometimes when i feel lazy or like the goal is so far, they help snap me back into the baby-step perspective and help me enjoy the journey. After all, amazing things happen on the road to “there!”

Leave a Reply

